Archives for posts with tag: andrew nikiforuk

Writers' Trust Award winners (l to r) Andrew Nikiforuk, Lisa Moore, Naben Ruthnum, Colin McAdam, Barbara Reid

On November 20, 2013 the Writers’ Trust of Canada held its 13th annual Writers’ Trust Awards in the Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto. The big winners of the night were:

  • Colin McAdam for A Beautiful Truth, which won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize;
  • Naben Ruthnum for “Cinema Rex,” which won the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize;
  • Lisa Moore, who won the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award;
  • Andrew Nikiforuk, who won the Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life;
  • Barbara Reid, who won the Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People;
  • McClelland & Stewart, which won the Writers’ Trust Distinguished Contribution Award in recognition of having been the sponsor of the Journey Prize since its inception 25 years ago.

The Writers’ Trust Awards is always a great event to be a part of, with the feeling in the room being one of support, congratulation and celebration. The acceptance speeches were heartfelt, in some cases emotional, and spoke to the importance of awards such as these to support, nurture and also showcase Canada’s finest literary talent.

Here’s some of the media coverage:


The nominees for the 12th annual Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing have been announced, with bugs, border crossings, and — for this not-quite-yet-Canadian — a booster course in Canadian political history that will prove very useful when I get to sit the citizenship test.

Congratulations to Ron Graham, Richard Gwyn, Max & Monique Nemni and their translator George Tombs, Andrew Nikiforuk, and Jacques Poitras.

The winner will be announced at the Politics and the Pen Gala in Ottawa on April 25.

Watch a video about Shaughnessy Cohen’s “drive to find the truth,” how she got a reputation for having all the best gossip, and why Margaret Atwood thought her “a force of nature.”