On November 1, Patrick deWitt took home the $25,000 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize for The Sisters Brothers. But it wasn’t the only award handed out that night. Over five other awards, the Writers’ Trust swept the country, honoring writers from Newfoundland to Gabriola Island, BC. As publicist for the full set of awards I moved back and forth through six time zones that day (thank you free Gmail phone).

The cross-Canada winners were:

Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize: Patrick deWitt (lives Portland, OR; born Victoria, BC) for The Sisters Brothers.
He talked to CityTV about his win.

Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize: Miranda Hill (Hamilton, ON) for “Petitions to Saint Chronic”
Miranda  was the Guest Editor of The Afterword last week.

Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award for a writer in mid-career: Wayne Johnston (lives Toronto, ON; hails from and writes about Newfoundland)
The St. John’s Telegram covered Wayne’s win.

Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life: David Adams Richards (Fredericton, NB)
David was interviewed on CBC Radio One’s As it Happens the following afternoon. (listen to part 3)

Vicky Metcalf Award for Children’s Literature: Iain Lawrence (Gabriola Island, BC)

Writers’ Trust Award for Distinguished Contribution: Alma Lee (Vanoucver, BC)
The Vancouver Sun published a story about Alma’s win.