image: WT Fiction Shortlist 2013


On Monday, September 30, we announced the nominees for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and the Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize at a press conference at Ben McNally Books in downtown Toronto. Prize juror and 2010 prize winner Miranda Hill announced the $10,000 Journey Prize shortlist. Prize juror Alison Pick and Jan Innes, vice president, government relations, Rogers Communications,¬†announced the $25,000 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize shortlist. The winners will be announced in Toronto on November 20.

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize nominees are:

  • Krista Bridge for The Eliot Girls
  • Lynn Coady for Hellgoing
  • Cary Fagan for A Bird’s Eye
  • Colin McAdam for A Beautiful Truth
  • Lisa Moore for Caught

The Journey Prize nominees are:

  • Doretta Lau for her story “How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun?”
  • Eliza Robertson for her story “My Sister Sang”
  • Naben Ruthnum for his story “Cinema Rex”

Here’s some of the coverage: